Print this page
Friday, 25 July 2014 16:56

Interim Ministry of Health Establishes Eleven Directorates of Health in Syria

The interim Ministry of Health said it had established 11 directorates of health in the provinces of Damascus, Homs, Aleppo, Hama, Idlib, Dara’a, Quneitra, Raqqa, Deir Ezzor, Al-Hasakah and Lattakia. In a report covering its work in the second quarter of 2014, the Ministry points out that a number of independent health organizations had been incorporated into the new directorates.” The Ministry’s office in Syria is tasked with supervising and monitoring the projects being carried out by the Ministry and also with communicate with the medical bodies and local communities to facilitate the work of the Ministry across Syria. The Ministry also said it had paid the salaries of around 1,000 doctors as a first step in a comprehensive program designed to register all doctors based in Syria.  Moreover, the Ministry is preparing to create a non-governmental fund for taking care of the wounded. Some of the Ministry’ projects carried so far includes supporting Azaz Hospital and Haritan health center in rural Aleppo. (Source: Syria Interim government + Syrian Coalition)